The unexpected break

This is what you look like right now by Abstru...

This is what you look like right now by Abstruse Goose (Tell me I’m wrong) (Photo credit: dullhunk)

First of all, apologies to those who were wondering if this blog seemed in danger of being abandoned. It was always intended to be a low-volume blog so that if I had a week or more where I didn’t have anything to say, then I wouldn’t invent something pointless to say.

But what has happened is that I’ve been writing other things, non-fiction things and since this blog is about fiction writing, there hasn’t been much to say here. And just to make things just a little more interesting, I got a hardware upgrade at work. Instead of a powerful desktop computer, I now have a powerful laptop. Unfortunately, lugging two laptops to and from work is not going to work. And I’m not sure I want to put my writing on the work lappy. Fortunately, I do have a secure place to put my work laptop overnight at work; it just means I have to plan ahead a bit more if I want to work from home.

So whilst I’m figuring out how to sort out these logistics, my fiction is taking a bit of a break.

I’m a little stuck, anyway. I think I need to find some inspiration to work on other parts of the story and come back to this big roadblock later. This could also mean writing more short stories that may or may not be in the same world.

Which segues nicely into this comic from AbstruseGoose about ideas.

Leave a comment

Filed under blogging, storytelling, writing

Share Your Thoughts

